In April, I am going to be trying my hand at ‘found’ poetry, following a daily poem challenge to explore the concept more, as it’s something I’ve always found interesting. The fact that I’m also hoping to do NaPoWriMo, as well as keeping up with Slant 2015 is neither here nor there. Poets don’t need sleep, right?

Last night, I went to a workshop as part of the Beyond the Western Front project, and the first challenge was to produce a found poem from a provided piece of writing. Mine was part of a report about the attack on the Salient, and I thought the process was fascinating – it really makes you look at the words, rather than the whole sense of the piece.

Bring on April – and plenty of caffeine!

Christmas is approaching on a sea
of mud, rain, frost, fogs, vermin –
and sudden death.

